Friends of Belmont Shore

Date: 
Thursday, January 5, 2017 - 4:00pm

Mayor Robert Garcia will provide an update on 2017 Plans for Long Beach at the Friends of Belmont Shore meeting on Thursday, January 5, at 6 p.m. at the St. Bartholomew Church Meeting Hall, 5100 Broadway at Granada.

As One

Date: 
Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 6:00pm to Sunday, May 21, 2017 - 12:30pm

On May 13, 20 and 21, LB Opera will present composer Laura Kaminsky’s As One, the compelling story of a transgender youth. Concluding the season in June will be five performances of Roberto Xavier Rodríguez’ Frida, a searing bio drama depicting the pain and passion of famed Mexican artist Frida Kahlo.

The Perfect American

Date: 
Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 12:30pm to Saturday, March 18, 2017 - 7:00pm

Long Beach Opera continues its 2017 season on March 12 and 18, 2017 with the U.S. premiere of Philip Glass’ The Perfect American, a fictionalized biography of Walt Disney’s life melding delusions of the American Dream, immortality, and empire.

ScotsFestival & International Highland Games

Date: 
Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 7:00am to Sunday, February 19, 2017 - 4:00pm

The Queen Mary is pleased to welcome back the annual ScotsFestival & International Highland Games XXIX February 18-19, 2017 from 9AM-6PM.  Experience the rich culture and history of Scotland first hand through an array of authentic activities, athletics, dancing, entertainment and cuisine all in ode to the Queen Mary’s Scottish legacy.  

The Fairy Queen

Date: 
Sunday, January 22, 2017 - 12:30pm to Saturday, January 28, 2017 - 6:00pm
Long Beach Opera (LBO) opens its 2017 season on January 22 and 28, 2017 with Henry Purcell’s 1692 The Fairy Queen, a re-telling of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. The California-based performance troupe Culture Clash and LBO’s Artistic and General Director Andreas Mitisek put their spin on this immortal tale. The Fairy Queen will be performed at the Beverly O’Neill Theater, 300 E. Ocean Boulevard, Long Beach CA. 90802.

Forever Plaid

Date: 
Repeats every 2 weeks every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun Mar 05 2017.
Saturday, February 25, 2017 - 8:00pm to Sunday, February 26, 2017 - 2:00pm
Sunday, February 26, 2017 - 8:00pm to Monday, February 27, 2017 - 2:00pm
Saturday, March 4, 2017 - 8:00pm to Sunday, March 5, 2017 - 2:00pm

International City Theatre invites you to see the popular musical Forever Plaid. A fan favorite chock-full of classic 1950s hits. Witness the story of four guys who come together to become their idols – The Four Freshmen. The show runs February 15 – March 5. For tickets, call (562) 436-4610 or visit www.InternationalCityTheatre.org.

Beachcomber

Copyright 2020 Beeler & Associates.

All rights reserved. Contents may not be reproduced or transmitted – by any means – without publisher's written permission.